Fairy Dust and Starshine: Necessities of Life

 

A fairy offering wishes, illustration by John ...

Image via Wikipedia

 

That’s it! I’ve figured out what one of the major problems is with this world. Too many people have stopped believing in fairies. By this I mean the more general belief in a magical world that is not dictated by our rules of science. We have lost the sense of wonder that comes when you see the twinkling of fireflies on a warm summer night. Yes, I know that there is a scientific explanation for those fireflies (something to do with mating); but isn’t there power in imagining the fireflies are gatherings of stars fallen from the sky? Our world suffers as people focus only on science and logic, and forget fairy dust and starshine.

Now, I’m not saying that we should all live in a fantasy land or ignore the valuable scientific understanding of the universe. I am arguing that welcoming a sense of wonder, and the possibility of events occurring beyond explanations, allows us to feel another important thing–and that is hope. This does not mean we have to believe in a specific god or a specific religion, but it does mean that we should try to believe in possibilities. Once we let those possibilities go, the world becomes routine and mundane. Who really wants to live in a world like that?

So, all fairies and pixies, unicorns and rainbows, ghosts and goblins, star dust and music you are welcome in my home. All of you who want to join me in world full of potential . . . you are very welcome.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Fairy Dust and Starshine: Necessities of Life (via Woman Wielding Words) « The odd ramblings of a mind that does not quite fit
  2. Trackback: Freaking 4 AM! « Woman Wielding Words
  3. Girl Called Pete
    May 07, 2011 @ 10:39:43

    This made me think of With Morning Comes Mistfall by George R. R. Martin.

    If you could have the answer to every mystery, the ultimate complete truth – would you want it?

    Reply

    • Lisa
      May 07, 2011 @ 11:36:44

      I’ve never read that but it looks interesting. I’ll have to add it to the list. Interesting question. I don’t think I would want to have the answer to every mystery, because the mysteries of life add to the adventure of life.

      Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa