Reflections on Writing

My thanks go to Vicky at Little Miss Everything for tagging me with the rather daunting task of looking over my own writing and choosing the “best.” Actually, I really am grateful because I am back in the

BLOCKED ZONE!!!!

You know, that zone where you feel like you have nothing worthwhile to say and even less worthwhile to read. Perhaps looking over some of my old posts might inspire me, or alternatively it may make me realize that writing is a ridiculous dream that I should give up completely. So here goes:

1. Most Beautiful Post . . . I’m going to cheat a little and simply link to my most a recent post about Beauty called The Search for True Beauty.

2. Most Controversial Post . . . Despite the fact that I seem to have a tendency to rant in my posts, I don’t seem to spark a lot of controversy. Maybe I simply don’t have enough readers for a true public debate, or maybe I only interest readers who, for the most part, understand my point. However, I wrote Hell is Living in the Bible Belt knowing that I might trigger some people, and got a few comments that basically told me I was going to Hell. If that’s not controversial, I don’t know what is.

3. Most Helpful Post . . . I don’t know that any of my posts have been extremely helpful except by introducing a few bloggers to each other (I seem to be good at making the connections between bloggers). But here’s a (barely read) post that I think could be very helpful to those of us (or many of us) who struggle with The Persistent Power of Perfectionism.

4. A Post Whose Success Surprised Me . . . this one is the easiest for me to pick because I simply looked up the post that got the most hits and voila, Birthday Wishes comes to the top. I think its success merely comes from people searching for words to say to someone else for their birthday. But, as I read over this post, I realized something pretty incredible. Many of those birthday wishes have come true. Not all, but many.  Maybe there is some magic to a wish made on your birthday.

5. A post that didn’t get the attention that I felt it deserved . . . I don’t know that anybody ever read my post The Culture of Bullying, but I think it said something important.

6. Post I’m most proud of . . .I struggle with this one, as I find it hard to be proud of any of my writing. I still battle the “its not good unless I’m Freshly Pressed” or “I can’t be a good writer because nobody comments.” But, I think the post I am most proud of is a recent one, where I share the lessons I learned working with a very special community of people–Appropriate Age Appropriateness.

Now I need to pass  this task challenge onto 5 of my fellow bloggers. I don’t know that I can do that. So, rather than pick 5 specific people, I offer this challenge to anyone who wants to take it up.  Consider yourself TAGGED!

Seriously, I think this is a good exercise for all  especially for those of us who tend to be overly critical of our own work. Looking through past posts has shown me that I have some good stuff as well as garbage. I’ve come a long way since I first started this blog, and I guess I’ll keep going until I figure out what to do next.

Take the challenge, and share some posts with the world! I’ll be sure to read them

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbarann Ayars
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 12:13:08

    I am so amused that you think you are not read. What, are you kidding? How much is not enough? I get ZERO response at my blog! Heck, sometimes even I don’t read me! I spend a lot of time there talking to myself about what matters to me. That must be the key. Few of us are writing about what matters to anyone else. We share our thoughts more like, Hey, guess what I did yesterday, or, look at how much uukky lint I found in my navel. Once in a while, even the least of us mumble out some wisdom or humor or schock schlok. But mostly, we muse.

    Some of us muse better than others. Pick your category. What I won’t do is try to stimulate the masses. You discover me or you don’t. You like my mind or you don’t. You recognize a kindred spirit or not. But if you don’t go there, you never know, do you? In the now kazillion blogs out there, I feel like a star-dot in some distant cluster, one a big telescope might spend a second with before deciding I’m just a speck in the cosmos. We’re all just specks, trying to shine as brightly as we can before our little candle goes out.

    http://www.makeminememoir.blogspot.com

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Jul 19, 2011 @ 12:42:25

      Well, okay, I admit I have some readers. I guess, though, in my mind somehow I’d become famous with writing through the blog. But that is not reality. You are so right, we are merely a speck in the cosmos.

      By the way, Barbarann, your comments often end up in my spam folder. I am not sure why, it might be because you don’t have an avatar. But, if it happens on mine it may be happening elsewhere, which means people aren’t finding you.

      Reply

  2. She's a Maineiac
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 13:02:11

    You are an amazing writer! I absolutely love to read your blog, it’s by far one of my top favorites. Most days I can barely read blogs, let alone comment on them. As you know, I took a break from writing and that gave me time to actually start to comment and I have to say I’m enjoying this writer’s block. It was nice to let it go this summer and not have to write just for the sake of getting something “out there” (although it’s slowly starting to fade now and I am starting to babble again…)

    Blogging is so strange, I didn’t want to do it at all even though I’ve always had this dream of becoming a writer (like a lot of people!) and have been writing fiction since I was a little girl. A friend finally convinced me to try it last year and I’ve reread some of my very old posts and they were awful, but really, I was just writing for my only reader at the time (my cousin). I’m trying to keep on writing mainly for me because it is a good form of therapy. If others like it, great! if not (and I’ve had lots of nasty comments in the past) then too bad, go away and don’t read my blog. Ha!

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Jul 19, 2011 @ 13:35:35

      Thank you so much. Those are very kind words. I find myself struggling with both reading and writing this summer. I’ve kind of reached the “who cares?” stage of blogging. It is a strange world where you put words out there for an unknown response, but then don’t know what to do with the rsoponses you get.

      Reply

  3. jgavinallan
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 15:37:37

    I agree…I love your writing…in a literary sense…but also the observations or sweet and subtle opinions you put forth.
    You have fans…post…or I will cry…and
    FYI: It doesn’t take much for me to cry…so POST!
    cry baby, Jaye

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Jul 19, 2011 @ 17:42:18

      I don’t want to make you cry, but sometimes posting makes me cry. I’ll do my best. ;)

      Reply

  4. Paul Sunstone
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 21:27:09

    I thought “Hell is Living in the Bible Belt” was a great post. As someone new to your blog, I appreciate your picking out old articles to read.

    Reply

  5. Vix @ LittleMissEverything
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 06:33:10

    Well done Lisa, great choices! Your writing often inspires me and I’m sure it inspires others too!

    Reply

  6. nrhatch
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 08:02:48

    Glad you enjoyed your retrolook at blog posts. Loved the cartoon. :D

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Jul 20, 2011 @ 08:19:05

      I knew you would. ;) Calvin & Hobbes has an answer to almost everything in life, don’t you think?

      Reply

  7. Trackback: Entering the Story in the Middle « Woman Wielding Words
  8. Berna
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 14:36:52

    I think I live next to you in Hell is Living in the Bible. Having come from a place where tolerance is a cultural trait, I find it interesting to live in place that loves religion but think getting too spiritual is “new age.”

    p.s. This post should be your next #3 post because it helps fellow bloggers look at our stuff critically. Thanks!

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Join the 7 Links Challenge « Spirit Lights The Way

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

