Poetry by Sarah

A number of factors have made posting a challenge for me lately. I am still struggling with internet access. I have been really sick for a few days. I am starting the downward cycle of fear that comes with changing everything in my life. I feel blocked. I am truly grateful to Renee at Life in the Boomer Lane who included me in a list of bloggers worthy of the Versatile Blogger award, but I feel unworthy and wordless.

Never fear, however, I am raising a daughter to love words as much as I do. So I will now share with you two poems she wrote over the past two days. She wrote a different poem in school, using the format “adjective, noun, verb, ending” and enjoyed it so much she wrote these at home.  Enjoy!

`Sarah  K.                                                                                                     9-23-11

OUT MY WINDOW

Gentle rain falling down

Beautiful trees changing colors

Colorful cars going by

Green playground swinging in the wind

Brown power line giving power to people

Silver street lamp guiding people

Black road waiting for cars

Brownish trash wanting trash

Gray rock sitting still

Tan fence protecting territory

                                                  Gorgeous flowers brightening house

Blue lake swaying slowly

White house letting in people

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Sarah  K.                                                                                                                                  9-24-11

IN MY ROOM

Colorful pictures hanging on the wall

Beautiful stripes cheering our house

Blue shoes white easel wanting for feet

Pink dollhouse silent as can be

Brown doors open and close

Perfect bed comfy as can be

Brown and White shelves full of stuff

Fluffy pillows soft as you see

Black stapler stapling papers together

Pretty stuffed animals sleeping on the ground

Green hooks staying still

Neat clothing scrunched up still

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Taochild
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 11:37:44

    I didn’t even realize when i was checking her spelling that it was a new poem lol Go Sarah!!

    Reply

  2. An Embarrassment of Freedom
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 12:14:34

    Poetic child sharing soul.

    Reply

  3. Pocket Perspectives
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 13:49:40

    Lisa, Sarah’s poems show such richness, perspective and insight…they are wonderful. And her room is a delight! She’s a very fortunate little girl to have a mom who obviously nurtures her in such a loving way.
    And you have so many changes and adjustments right now…it takes time to shift…please keep in mind that we all thank you for all that you do…your blog is wonderful and we appreciate your ideas…and many of us know how scarey big changes can be…potentially wonderful, but scarey, too……”wordless,” for the moment, is fine..the words will return…. kathy

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Sep 26, 2011 @ 11:48:33

      Sarah is a lucky child, with parents who encourage her to explore the world in many ways. Thank you for saying that. Thank you for your kind words as well.

      Reply

  4. k8edid
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 15:48:23

    How beautiful. And I absolutely love her room.

    Lisa, I understand your fear that comes with big changes. I am “far from home” and after almost a year I am wondering when, or if, I will truly adjust. You won’t remain wordless for long – there are too many beautiful thoughts and words waiting, and too many supporters here for you for that to occur. Your heart will sing I’m sure, and we’ll all be waiting.

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Sep 26, 2011 @ 11:47:26

      K8edid, thank you so much for your kind words. I think it takes about a year to adjust to any new place, but this place has me confused because it is so close to home without really being familiar. I have to remind myself that I have been here less then a month, and that I should give it time. Meanwhile, I will enjoy the creativity of my daughter and wait for the words and inspiration to come.

      Reply

  5. Kathryn McCullough
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 11:31:03

    Oh, Sarah’s poems are delightful!. What a briiliant little girl!

    But, Lisa, you are the one who has given her that gift of language–that wonder over words. I know that feeling of wordlessness more than I’d like to admit. Be patient, my friend. No words on the surface, means deep composing underneath. Those words will surface in time–in perfect time, I should add. Be brave, dear Lisa! And huge hugs, as well! We love you here in Kentucky.

    Kathy

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Sep 26, 2011 @ 11:44:48

      Thanks Kathy. I’m just feeling a bit overwhelmed at the moment. But this too shall pass.

      Reply

  6. CMSmith
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 13:05:04

    Somewhere you must have done something right.

    Sarah looks good in her room.

    You’ve had a lot of changes. Patience may be required.

    Reply

  7. lifeintheboomerlane
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 20:29:54

    Creative writing is the result of the way we experince life, the passion we have for self-expression and the love we have for the written word. You not only have all of that in abundance, you have inspired Sarah to take the same path. Her words pour out now. Yours may be temporarily overshadowed by life events. But they exist, and they will reappear. You are worthy and you have words.

    Reply

  8. Heather Henry
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 00:47:01

    So gorgeous. She definitely has a gift. Those were both amazing. I love them.

    Hope you are doing well. You should check out Fearless Painting, did I tell you about it already. I don’t recall, but I do think you’d love it. You can go to my blog and click on the Total Alignment button. Sarah would probably enjoy it as well.

    Big hugs to you! :)

    Reply

  9. thepetalpusher
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 16:58:18

    Sarah–As an English teacher, I would love having you as my student! Well-done! BRAVO.

    Reply

  10. kelworthfiles
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 18:41:31

    Thanks for sharing the poems and pictures. I loved the color references in ‘out my window’!

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Word Chaos « Woman Wielding Words
  12. Trackback: Why Write? A Reflection on Writing vs. Talking « Woman Wielding Words

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

