Back on the Grid Again!

I’M BACK!!

Yes folks, the grand nightmare of not having home internet is finally over.

Why was it so horrific, you wonder, since I still managed to post once in a while and get some e-mailing done? Let me see if I can explain.

  • While I could check and respond to e-mail on my phone, I still only have basic service and I don’t have a fancy phone. This means that deleting and organizing my e-mails is a pain in the butt, and uses up precious data minutes.  Without the ability to check my e-mail thousands of times a day every morning, I would end up with over a hundred  e-mails to clear out every time I went to my coffee shop offices to work.
  • While working in bookstores, coffee shops and libraries serves some purpose, it also means spending money (except for the library, of course) because I feel guilty if I stay there too long without at least buying one drink.
  • I also felt time pressure in some ways, because I don’t want to spend the whole day in a coffee shop, so I had to prioritize my work. I guess that is a good thing, but it meant reading other blogs for pleasure and responding to comments moved down the list. Time became my enemy, when right now time should be my friend because I have time to figure out where I am heading
  • I couldn’t look up anything spontaneously, directions or pictures, information or questions all had to wait until I had access which meant I either forgot them, or my to do list got longer.

Anyway, I am back and hopefully I will be inspired to write interesting posts again soon.  For now, I leave you with a quote that I found inspirational today and a picture created by Sarah:

“‎The difference between the impossible and the possible lies in a
person’s determination.”
– Tommy Lasorda

The Hand Picture by Sarah KramerLee

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hilary Clark
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 12:27:16

    Yea!! So glad to hear you’ve got 24/7 internet access again! I don’t know that I would have survived quite so graciously. :)

    Reply

  2. Julia Munroe Martin
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 14:13:43

    You must be THRILLED! Congrats! I love the hand picture, beautiful! Welcome back to the Internet at home :)

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Sep 29, 2011 @ 18:09:04

      I’m not sure how gracious I was when I wanted to swear at Verizon over the phone, but thanks. ;)

      Reply

  3. k8edid
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 17:59:18

    I spent 2 months in the woods of Michigan with only very sporadic phone service and even spottier internet service (I had to go sit by the lake on the bench to the right side of the path, not the left side, and hold my hands just right. I thought at first I would die, then adapted beautifully. Unfortunately, I didn’t write a damned thing. Sigh.

    Glad you are up and running. I am thinking I am going to go to a coffee shop to have a little different perspective once a week or so…

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Sep 29, 2011 @ 18:06:56

      Sometimes giving up technology for a while can be a blessing in disguise, and in some ways I enjoyed the time away. But when it is lengthened by idiocy (of the bureaucratic kind) it becomes more annoying.

      Reply

  4. Christine Grote
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 20:34:42

    Glad your connected to the ‘net at home again.

    Reply

  5. Kathryn McCullough
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 21:06:13

    Congratulations! You have done well to hang on as long as you have. I know how hard it was for me in Haiti just having the sllllllloooooowwwwesssssstttttttt internet north of Venezuela!

    I’m so happy for you!

    Kathy

    Reply

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 21:49:59

    I think I would die after anything more than 6 hours without Internet….. I don’t know how you did it…. :)

    Reply

  7. Tori Nelson
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 08:51:28

    Miss Thang is back!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Page not found « Woman Wielding Words
  9. thepetalpusher
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 18:43:16

    Yea! i was feeling your frustration. Hope everything else in the transition goes smoothly.

    Reply

  10. kelworthfiles
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 19:18:45

    Welcome back! I haven’t had to deal with anything like that myself – not sure how well I’d cope!

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

