Occupy Thanksgiving: Thanks for the Words, Anne McCaffrey et al

A good story is a good story no matter who wrote it. Anne McCaffrey

Anne McCaffrey.

I just learned that Anne McCaffrey passed away yesterday. While I haven’t read everything she has written (I didn’t like her sci-fi stuff as much as her fantasy), the original Dragonriders of Pern and Dragonsingers of Pern series introduced me to a fantasy world that I still love today.

She is just one of the many word magicians who have influenced my entire life. Of course many of you, my friends and fellow bloggers, are included in this list.

But today, in honor of Anne McCaffrey, I would like to thank all of the incredible wordsmiths who changed my life by: taking me on journeys to unknown lands; showing me the beauty and power of a well written phrase; and encouraging me by writing books and poems, essays and articles, songs and speeches fearlessly.

“When I read great literature, great drama, speeches, or sermons, I feel that the human mind has not achieved anything greater than the ability to share feelings and thoughts through language.”- James Earl Jones

To all writers everywhere:

for the words!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Taochild
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 09:35:23

    Her books were (and still are) one of my favorite escapes. I have probably read the Pern series as much as Tolkien. One of the beauties of her work was whether fantasy or science fiction, it all took place in the same universe. She did not just create worlds, she created a whole macrocosm. And from what I have read about her, always with a smile on her face. A true loss to the world. Here’s to her and all the other creators that shape the imagination!

    Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 22:41:49

    Oh, what a wonderful post, Lisa. I’m thankful for your words, as well. Happy Thanksgiving, my friend!

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 27, 2011 @ 12:09:01

      Thanks Kathy. I thought I thanked you earlier, but WordPress has been goofy and annoying lately.

      Reply

  3. Rose
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 01:08:57

    I don’t know her or her work. I’ll remedy that. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  4. Tori Nelson
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 06:40:50

    Your gratitude is contagious! I’ll second Kathy and say thank you, thank you for your words :) Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Occupy Thanksgiving: The Five Senses of Thanks « Woman Wielding Words
  6. ifiwerebraveblog
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 10:33:29

    Right back at you, Lisa. Thanks for your writing. :-)

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

