Keep it Simple

Words heard in a complicated dream:

“Keep it simple.”

I understand the words, but I don’t know what they mean.

My ideas are too complicated. My thoughts are too muddled. My hopes are too intricate.

I must learn simplicity.

I have started many stories, but get lost in their complexity.

I have started many projects, only to lose my way.

In the past I accomplished all my goals, even if they were complex. But now I struggle even though I have fewer immediate expectations.

I function better in chaos, but not the chaos that is my mind. So now it is time to simplify.

But what exactly does that mean?

Simple perfection.

Only time will tell as I sit and listen to the silence.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brinkofbedlam
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 08:56:45

    Keep it Simple, what a lovely idea. I envy anyone that can do that. Best of luck, if the silence tells you exactly how to keep it simple, I’d love to know too. My thoughts tie themselves in knots for the fun of it. Ah well!

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Jan 26, 2012 @ 08:58:55

      Trust me, my thoughts are so tied in knots right now that it will be a miracle to unknot them. I struggle with words, but the phrase kept repeating itself in my head, so I thought writing something would help. I have no idea how to Keep it Simple, but if I figure it out I promise to share.

      Reply

  2. Victoria-writes
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 10:00:35

    Phew it’s so hard to do that. Sounds like you need to find a focus. Find a project that inspires you to finish it and be passionate about it. Easier said than done I know!

    Reply

  3. Kathryn McCullough
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 10:23:53

    Okay, I can relate well to this, also. This is tough. I know. I’m there right now. Sorry you are struggling with this, but I’m kind of relieved not to be alone. Hope you will keep writing about this. I’m hoping your process will help me through mine, as well.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  4. Tori Nelson
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 10:59:56

    Simple never did suit me. I’m sure that seems odd, but simple is a lot more complicated for me than, well, complicated.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: The Many Passions (and Confusions) of Lisa « Woman Wielding Words
  6. Fraha
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 21:47:24

    Maybe it means you are to hard on yourself…We are our worst critiques. Isn’t that what we always hear? I’m in your shoes. I have been trying to write a young adult novel, over and over. The ideas rattle through my head then it gets to complicated and I stop writing for a while, yet daily I think about what I will write next, but it’s like I am almost afraid to start typing out the words, so I don’t.. makes me crazy!

    Reply

  7. eof737
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 05:23:07

    Keeping it simple is one of my goals for 2012. ;-)

    Reply

  8. thepetalpusher
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 17:17:15

    When you mention Keep It Simple–I always remember the math teacher behind me who use that saying all the time: K.I.S.S.=keep it simple, stupid when he was referring to math problems. Don’t know if it worked! But I am all for simplifying my life–less in the closets, on the shelves, on the walls. A great goal to have.

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

