Two Years

Two years ago today I started this blog.

Since that first pathetic post I have:

  • written 585 posts
  • approved 7629 comments
  • been protected from 5738 spam comments
  • had (supposedly) 39,054 views
  • written hundreds and hundreds of comments on other people’s blogs
  • gained and lost subscribers (right now I have 155 blog followers).

But these numbers really don’t mean anything to me. Since I started this blog, I have also:

  • lived in four states (Colorado, Iowa for summer theatre work, Kansas, and Massachusetts).
  • taught several hundred students of all ages in theatre, writing, English lit, puppetry and other areas.
  • driven thousands of miles (including across country three times)
  • read approximately 118 books
  • walked miles and miles in beautiful locations
  • taken hundreds of pictures
  • created a couple of pieces of “art”
  • directed shows
  • taught camps
  • written hundreds of morning pages
  • met amazing people
  • traveled out of the country
  • played too many computer games
  • been angry, scared, sad, happy, excited, lonely, content, frustrated, confident, doubtful and any other emotion you can think of
  • gained and lost weight
  • shared ideas with wonderful women
  • eaten chocolate, laughed and celebrated life
  • cried millions of tears

In other words I’ve lived my life. I’ve tried to share honestly on these pages. I’ve written words from the heart. I have been honored to interact with many incredible people. I admit that I still envy bloggers who seem to ease into successful blogs: the ones who get Freshly Pressed repeatedly while I limp forward slowly, the ones with hundreds and hundreds of followers and hundreds of thousand of hits. I admit that there are days that I feel frustrated and wonder why I bother. What do I hope to achieve with this blog?

That question looms large as I celebrate this, my second blogiversary. What do I hope to achieve with this blog? Where do I go from here? Do I continue as I’ve been doing, posting about whatever inspires me at any given moment, including rants and rambles along the way? Do I start something new, coming up with a more focused vision? Or do I simply give up, saying, “it was a good try but now move on to something realistic” ?

I am in the middle of reinventing myself, of discovering who I want to be and what marks I want to leave in this world. Saturday I spent the day with theatre educators and others who are passionate about the importance and value of arts education in the schools, and arts as part of life. I discovered people who are doing incredible work, on both a large and a small-scale. I was reminded that I do belong in that world in many ways, I just have yet to figure out how I contribute.

I live in a world of creative energy, and am slowly finding a foothold in that world. Blogging has helped me in many ways. I have learned so much from fellow bloggers, that I’m not sure where to even begin. But, I will try.

  • I’ve learned how to see the world a little differently from people like Piglet in Portugal and Terry at The Incredible Lightness of Seeing. Because of them I carry my camera with me wherever I go, and began incorporating my own images into my posts more often.
  • I’ve learned about courage from many sources, but particularly: Kathy at Reinventing the Event Horizon who is delving into her past with beauty, compassion and courage; Mark at The Idiot Speaketh who faces the challenges of his disability with humor and honesty, while still offering compassion and support wherever needed,  Ré at Sparks in the Shadows who is heart-breakingly honest with her struggles in life, but works daily to improve herself as a writer and challenge her world; and Dory at If I Were Brave who challenges herself daily to bring joy and face her fears. She’s now embarking on a fiction writing course and I know she will shine in that.
  • I’ve learned about love from Christine (who has also helped me see the power of photography). Ahab and Tori. I’ve learned about the craft of writing from Broadside and Wordsxo. I’ve learned about pursuing passion from Julia’s hundred word challenge and Stuart’s commitment to the arts.

My list could go on and on, but I honestly don’t have time to link to all the fabulous blogs I’ve read. Because, one of the downsides of blogging is that I have blogged away all the time I need to do other things. I am just starting on a book project with actual deadlines. I need to focus my energy on that to some extent today, or I will not make my deadline. But, this blogging world is now a home, that I am afraid to leave. I am more comfortable writing here then I ever thought I would be in the early days of my blog. I have found a community. I have met a few bloggers, and hope to meet more. I have discovered amazing people who I connect to on many different levels.

In many ways my blog has become my home. But, I wonder, is it time for this little bird to leave her nest?

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stuart Nager
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 09:12:30

    Congratulations, Mazel Tov and more on your anniversary!!!
    Yeah,…what next? Why a blog? As you wrote on my wondering, I hope you find the reason to continue.

    Thank you for the mention. I’m honored.

    Here’s to finding your way through the next part of the journey.

    Reply

  2. sportsjim81
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 09:17:58

    Congrats on a stellar 2 years of blogging. I haven’t known you the whole time, but in the time I have, I’ve been entertained, moved, and generally enamored with your page. Keep up the great work, or should I say, the great living!

    Reply

  3. ifiwerebraveblog
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 09:24:19

    Congratulations. I’m honored to be one of the bloggers you mention. I wonder what I am doing with my blog these days, too. I wish you luck in figuring it out. And when you do, please tell me what to do? ;-)

    I would miss your blog, but I completely understand that you are questioning whether you ought to divert some energy elsewhere. Maybe you could still blog but less frequently? I think that is what I will end up doing with mine.

    We really ought to try that get-together. :-)

    Reply

  4. Life in the Boomer Lane
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 09:38:47

    This is so good, Lisa. It’s a completely different take on the usual blogging anniversary post. Blogging, like anything else we pour our passion into, goes beyond what we can measure in terms of hours or money. It comes from deep inside, from a place that nurtures us and gives us vision. And what comes from that place in us surely touches others. Whatever you/we do, whether blogging or something else, should be something that comes from that same place.

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Mar 05, 2012 @ 11:02:44

      Renee, you are sweet. I hope you realize that you are one of the people that I have learned from through this journey. I am honored to count you as a blog follower, and am always inspired by your words.

      Reply

  5. Piglet in Portugal
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 09:42:43

    Awhhh thankyou WWW :) I am glad I’ve inspired you to take your own pictures and see the world a little differently. Bloggers like yourself have inspired me to write :) and I now look at writing in a different light. I no longer try and get fron A to B as quickly as possible, but enjoy the journey.

    Blogging is a community and one from which I have learned so much by reaching out to others all over the world :)

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Mar 05, 2012 @ 11:01:43

      I’m glad we have inspired each other. I love the fact that I feel like I have friends all over the world now. That is truly exciting and makes me want to travel and meet everyone.

      Reply

  6. Piglet in Portugal
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 09:43:32

    I need to learn to spell though!

    Reply

  7. thelifeofjamie
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 10:07:52

    If you leave, I understand…but I don’t want you to leave!

    Reply

  8. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 10:27:47

    NO… It is NOT time for you to leave…. And you explained why perfectly in this post. As long as blogging continues to provide you a home, helps you to continue writing, acts as a resource to meet new friends from around the world, and makes you feel like part of a community, then you can’t leave. All the numbers are unimportant, except for the numbers of people you would have never met without the blog. For all the things your blog has given you, your blog IS a huge success. Please don’t leave! :)

    Reply

  9. JAVS
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 12:05:10

    Enjoyed this! You could decrease your blog rate. I started out only once every week or two, and sometimes the blogs decrease to once a month, but friends do check them out, and I have made a few new blog friiends.
    What you do with a blog depends on what your goal is – discovering, venting, practicing your writing, getting clarity. Enjoy!

    Reply

  10. Kathryn McCullough
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 13:21:12

    Oh, Lisa, thank you, dear friend. I want you to know, as well, that one of the highlights of the past year for Sara and me was meeting you and your family this summer. What a delight that was. Please don’t be discouraged, Lisa. You inspire me daily!
    Hugs and love to you,
    Kathy

    Reply

  11. Andra Watkins
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 17:14:34

    I throw my hat in here and say that I love getting to know you through your blog, Lisa. You are not afraid to share things, good and bad, in an honest, forthright way that’s refreshing.

    I’ll also tell you that I’m in the middle of re-writing my novel, a project upon which I have spent no small amount of money on a pre-editor and for which I have actual deadlines. I still blog every day. Some of it may not be my most inspiring writing, or my best effort. That’s going into my book right now. But, I’m here. My readers still show up. I know yours will, too. :)

    Reply

  12. nrhatch
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 18:51:46

    Your post reminds me . . . I completely missed the arrival (and departure) of the 2nd anniversary of SLTW in February.

    Time sure flies in cyber space.

    Congrats on 2 years . . . whatever you decide to do as your journey forward.

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Mar 05, 2012 @ 19:02:51

      LOL. I marked it in my calendar so I wouldn’t forget. Congrats to you too, on 2 years. Your blog is on my list of blogs that have taught me many wonderful, thoughtful things.

      Reply

  13. ElizOF
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 03:33:24

    Congratulations on your blogging journey Lisa!

    Reply

  14. benzeknees
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 11:13:43

    I hope whatever you decide on to continue your journey includes keeping your toe in the water with blogging to us once in a while. I look forward to your posts & what you have to say!

    Reply

  15. Kathy
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 15:38:36

    You have such a lovely blog here. I always like pausing at your hearth (even briefly) and reading your words and feeling your energy. It’s so hard when we compare ourselves with other blogs (and even with our own blogs). I’ve done it way too many times. Some day I plan to grow up and cease being interested in numbers at all. tee hee. Or maybe it’s possible to just be interested in the number of times our heart opens?

    Reply

  16. CMSmith
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 21:31:43

    Congratulations on your anniversary, Lisa. And thanks for the shout out. I think I may know how you feel. I’ve often wondered if blogging is worth the time commitment.

    Maybe it doesn’t have to be all or nothing.

    You’ll find your way. You’ve had a lot of changes and challenges this year. Be patient with yourself. You’ll never win with comparisons. When I start comparing the sales success ( or lack of) to others, it makes me want to throw in the towel. But I have to remember, I am still reaching readers. Each one counts to me.

    Reply

  17. Barbarann Ayars
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 22:29:41

    You know, my sense is that you need to be me for a minute. I’m blogging away for me, myself, and I, and a tiny handful of others. Tiny. TINY! You have lots to say, lots of responses, great ideas. A ton of talent. A whole community to speak to, share with, respond to. Care about, who care about you. Enjoy your thoughts, glad you share. What, you might ask, is better? What is it that you are missing?

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

