The Monster

It loves to creep in when you are sleeping, oozing into your dreams and manipulating them to promote the utmost confusion and terror. Of course, then those dreams wake you up, and the rest of the night becomes one of tossing, turning, insecurity. “To sleep, perchance to dream” but without sleep the dreams hold you hostage>

The monster has been there.

Next it weighs you down in bed, making you tired and unable or willing to get up. But to stay in bed means to sleep more and to sleep means to dream. A vicious cycle.

You wake up and begin to write. Three pages. Morning pages. Pages intended to get the monster out of your head and enable you to face the day with energy and creativity. But the monster grips your pain, making each stroke painful. The monster whispers in your ear, “It’s futile. This won’t help. You can’t escape.”

Somehow you write the pages anyway. The monster hasn’t completely won.

Perhaps you get up, but the monster has not let you out of its grasp. No, it tricks you into thinking that everything is good. That you have defeated it and sent it back into its dark and stinking lair. You try to greet the day with cheer and a positive attitude, shaking off the grip of the monster.

“I’ll make my own breakfast.”

“These eggs taste funny.”

“Do I have to?”

Harmless words that have nothing to do with you. But, the monster twists them, using its power over language so that you hear this instead:

“You don’t know how to cook.”

“Daddy makes better eggs.”

“You are such a nag.”

The monsters niggles and pokes until every moment of being awake is almost as torturous as the moments of the dream. The sun refuses to come out, because it too is afraid of the monster. ¬†Words circle around you and suffocate you. You try to escape in the words of others, but that only allows the monster a new form of attack. “That writer is better than you. You have no original ideas. That person is more popular. . . ” The comparisons that hold you down, away from even trying.

You take a shower, hoping to wash the monster’s slime off of you. To cleanse away the tentacles and claws.

For a moment it works, lulling you into a false sense of security. You feel your breath ease. You begin to relax. Your eyes begin to close, falling into the comfort of a new kind of sleep, after the disturbances of the previous night.

But the monster knows how to get in once you sleep.  The cycle begins again.

I want to get out a torch and slay the monster. This is not the beast of Beauty and the Beast, trapped in the form of monsters by his own ego, but basically innocent. This is not the Hunchback of Notre Dame, hated for a deformity and because of people’s ignorance. This monster is invisible and hurtful. This monster is terrifying and powerful. This monster grips many of us in its grasp and will not let go.

I’m ready to fight it. Lisa the Depression Slayer is on duty now, and she intends to win.

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 13:58:43

    Don’t forget your sword! I hope you slay the monster soon!

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 14:07:55

      I’d prefer kicking butt with just hands and feet. I mean, Buffy was great with weapons but always amazing when she had to rely on her own body. And of course, I might need a stake.

      Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 16:08:15

    Hang in there, my friend. I’ve been where you are, I’m afraid. Been there way too often.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  3. 4amWriter
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 22:11:38

    I’m sorry to hear about this, Lisa, I hate what you’re going through. I’ve been there and it lasted too long. But I did slay my monsters, and I did it pretty much all by myself. That might be why it took so long, but I didn’t want to become dependent on anything outside my own will power.

    Anyway, I know it’s a tough road and everyone deals with it differently. I have no doubt you will get through this rut, and you’ll be stronger for it.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Seeking Sass and Style « Woman Wielding Words
  5. benzeknees
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 02:08:59

    Keep up the good work Lisa! I have been where you are for way too many years. There is no shame in admitting you need help to fight the monsters. Sometimes it’s a friend & sometimes it’s pharmacological but there is no shame either way. Take care of yourself & reach out to us as often as you need to – we are all standing behind you, ready to support you.

    Reply

  6. Michael Fishman
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 18:08:39

    This is the best blog posting I’ve read in a while. And there’s something about you that reminds me of Sarah Michelle Gellar but I can’t put my finder on it.

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

