Seeking Sass and Style

Something strange is happening to me.

Perhaps it is because I just turned 43, leaving me safely ensconced in (early) middle age.

Perhaps it is the fact that I only have to get dressed decently once a week for the class I teach at a University. Otherwise my normal look involves the least dirty comfy clothes.

Perhaps it is the recent decision my hair has made to be the bane of my existence. It has embraced frizz as a permanent state of being, and has begun a subtle sneak attack introducing new white strands when I least expect it. I admit, I tried to conquer that through color. My first attempt (over a month ago) looked great, but didn’t last long. In a battle against yesterday’s monster, Nathan helped me with my second attempt yesterday.

I like the results as far as color goes, but I have to do something with style.

Perhaps it is simply the “in” colors this season, bright pinks and corals that I have always loved.

Suddenly, I have started thinking about style. Suddenly I find myself seeking sassiness.

My new sassy sandals.

Be afraid, be very afraid.

The sandals are evidence that something has taken over my brain. Despite my 5 foot tall frame, I live in flats and sneakers, or the occasional 1 inch heeled cowboy boot.  But yesterday,  wedges called to me, saying “We are sassy and you want us!”  I tried many on, but none of them seemed to work until I put on this pair.

“Wow!” Nathan said.

Now I own  the sassiness.

Of course, being the fashion-notta that I am, I have to practice walking in these babies before I take them out in public. So I decided that I would walk around the house with them a little each day, figuring it might even help my legs get into shape a little.  Yesterday, I felt the beginnings of a blister forming, so I decided to protect my feet for this mornings sassy workout.

Still stylish in a Lisa's style way.

Nathan insisted on taking a picture, saying “you might want to blog about this.” So blame him for the craziness of this post.

Of course, once I started thinking about sass and style, I couldn’t stop. So I got dressed in one of my new purchases (made with birthday money last week). I can’t decide if I look:

a) matronly
b) like a maniac
or c) Sassy

All I know is I have to do something with my hair.

Suggestions?

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 10:19:20

    PHEW…thank goodness you didn’t go out with the socks and the sandals! Those shoes are CUTE! And you look really good in that dress. I have the same hair problem and I can offer you a solution. I hate doing my hair. I usually throw it up in a ponytail, but the last time I got it cut, I got the Jennifer Aniston bob, which forces me to either do my hair or put it up. When I go out, I have to do it, so I got a 20 dollar straightening iron and it really doesn’t take as long as I thought it would. It takes a while to blow dry my hair, but once it’s dry enough, the straightening only takes about 10 minutes. You should try it! I love it! (OH- and I like your hair color too!)

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 10:26:50

      You mean the stripey pink socks and sandals don’t work? Oh crap. ;) The hair idea is good, except that I am ultra lazy. I might just chop it all off.

      Reply

      • thelifeofjamie
        Mar 24, 2012 @ 13:20:41

        Im super lazy too, but it’s a lot easier than I thought. I never do my hair, but I did last night and it took ten minutes. You just need one that gets really hot. Mine gets 425 degrees. Try it! Then you don’t have to wash everyday! You just restraighten.

        Reply

  2. thebestdigger
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 10:27:18

    Love the dress. Love the shoes. Too much hair. Wow frizz! Hmmmm. Off to a hair stylist with you. Maybe a short curly cap? Love the glasses. They are the same color as mine. I think. Maybe I’d lose the shrug. The print of the dress is lovely, color and pattern are pretty, and A good length. Shoes read sassy. Shrug reads matronly, and over emphasizes already healthy parts. Nothing says like a maniac.

    Take some time to watch WHAT NOT TO WEAR, if you haven’t. Some good lessons on dressing body types. I learned a lot about dressing my five foot one full bodied self. Dressing now is easy since I removed components that hinder and added a few that help. And I didn’t require a whole wardrobe change. I limit days when the closet grunge comfies come out because they give me permission to stay in my funk. I often dress up in my best dress sport clothes, just shy of office clothes, to write. Makes me feel legitimate!

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 10:30:17

      I used to watch that all the time. That’s why I wasn’t sure about the print on this dress, perhaps too big. The shrug came with the dress, but it doesn’t have to stay with the dress. Someday I’ll figure it all out.

      Reply

  3. Kathryn McCullough
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 12:19:24

    Oh, my friend, you are supper sassy! I’m with Jamie though with regard to the socks. Leave them at home. Love the hair. Love the dress. You look great!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  4. Jessica
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 13:32:35

    Keratin Treatment… Uber-Expensive (about $250 at a Salon here but can be in the $300/$400 range( but frizzy hair is left sleek, straight, shiny, soft, and manageable! And it lasts 5-6 months!

    You’ve personalized sassy… and you look great.

    Reply

  5. SmallHouseBigGarden
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 16:25:46

    I had frizz in massachusetts, so you can imagine how much frizz i have now in florida….
    I would have to shoot myself if my hair flattener iron thingy suddenly went kaput! I LOVE that thing.
    first off, I cut my hair (was like yours) into an asymetrical bob that lays very neatly now due to effective layering; the parts of it that are long enough get swiped with the flattener. I’m telling you, it really does work and takes all of 10mins max. I usually with spray it first with olive oil spray (from the dollar tree..I bought it at the Lincoln Plaza one (near you) before i moved 2 years ago and am still using the same bottle) you don’t have to use much to get results!

    best of luck…:)

    Reply

  6. Donna Jean Foster Johnson
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 18:06:56

    Lisa, I have always been jealous of your hair.

    Reply

  7. Kathy
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 18:14:19

    You FOUND sass and style! I love your look, Lisa. My hair threatens to be unmanageable all the time. I know you’ll find a hairstyle you love. Go for it!

    Reply

  8. 4amWriter
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 21:15:12

    Luv the shoes. Have no suggestions for your hair other than I wish I had your curls and I’d be flaunting them! :)

    Reply

  9. ceceliafutch
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 00:22:51

    Definitely SASSY! And I love it! You inspire me. :-)

    Reply

  10. Andra Watkins
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 17:59:07

    I love the whole ensemble, Lisa!! Shoes. Hair. Clothing. Everything.

    I’m right there with you on the hair thing. Mine used to be so straight and sleek. No more.

    Reply

  11. Laine Griffin
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 06:01:53

    I love it! I think it’s super sassy, and not matronly at ALL!
    I’m feeling a need for change too, I think it’s the season change!

    Reply

  12. Victoria-writes
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 10:24:10

    You go girl! Can I pull that off? Not sure but I think it’s great you’re embracing sass and style. I have thick frizzy hair and I straighten it every day but if you can’t deal with that, I’d chop it off!

    Reply

  13. benzeknees
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 17:32:11

    LOVE the new shoes! The dress is also striking but a trifle long, show off your legs a little & lose the shrug. For your hair a nice layered cut & you’re set! Sassy Lisa!

    Reply

  14. Dana
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 23:27:40

    LOVE THIS POST!!! I am not a heel-wearer myself (because I am an awkward walker in them, to say the very least), but I love that these shoes called you to them like sirens and insisted that you take them home! Work it! :)

    That photo with your striped socks and sassy shoes totally made my day. You rock, Lisa!

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Mar 27, 2012 @ 07:38:16

      Dana,

      I am the clumsiest heel wearer in the world. But, the wedges seem easier to walk in somehow. Maybe it is because you don’t have to balance on a spikey stick. As I was trying these on, in front of me were some bright yellow 5 inch or so spike heels. “You know you want me to wear those,” I joked to Nathan. “Uh, no,” was his response. I am sure if I put them all I would soon become a tree falling in the forest and going splat.

      Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

