I’d Like to Teach the World to Sing

Last night I did something spontaneous!

Every summer, the lovely ladies of Spirit of Harmony come over to the theatre and serenade us. They are a chapter of Sweet Adelines International, basically a group of acapella singers in choruses or barbershop quartets made up of women only. The following is a video of them performing in competition (where they won either second or third place, I’m not sure)

www.sweetadelineintl.org

Every time I watch them perform I say, “I want to do this, this looks like so much fun.” Last night I said it out loud, to one of the members of the chorus. She said, “Come to rehearsal with me!”

I said yes.

I had a blast. It was so fun to sing just for the sake of singing, and be part of a group making beautiful music together. I wasn’t trying to prove myself, or worrying about what people might think, I was just singing.

Life is much better if you just let go and sing once in a while.

Anyone want to sing with me?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen)
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 14:01:48

    Oh absolutely! I love love love to sing. Mostly, I do it in private, but I can absolutely imagine bursting out with these ladies!

    Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 14:51:14

    Sounds like fun, Lisa. I’d sing with you, but I wouldn’t want to terrify you. Yes, it’s that bad. I swear, it is!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  3. lisaspiral
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 15:30:04

    How fun! I keep thinking I ought to join some kind of community choir but I never seem to find the time. Sing something for me!

    Reply

  4. Andra Watkins
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 22:01:45

    Lisa, I love to sing. And, it is THE MOST TERRIFYING THING for me to do in public. I can be a character and do it, no problem. But, as myself??? Horrors. A group like this is the way to go for me. It sounds awesome. I hope you’ll post a vlog if you do it again. :)

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Jul 13, 2012 @ 10:50:42

      I challenge you to go out and find a group and just try it for a day. I know what you mean, though. As much as I love to sing and have a secret desire to sing once in a jazz club or something, I am scared to sing as myself in public. I think that’s why this was so much fun. I just did it and didn’t care. I’m not sure if I will be able to go again, but if I do, I’ll try to figure out the vlog thing. ;)

      Reply

  5. thepetalpusher
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 07:40:45

    I love to sing although I’m not a great singer, but I guess that doesn’t matter. It just makes one feel good, doesn’t it?

    Reply

  6. sterlingsop
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 08:09:19

    I love singing too. It’s great when you sing with a group who are so good, but it’s equally as good just to fill up your lungs and let it rip!

    Reply

  7. ifiwerebraveblog
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 07:53:55

    I completely agree! In fact, I was just thinking that I don’t sing out loud as much as I used to, and that needs to change. Singing completely transforms the singer! Even though I am a bit pitchy.

    Reply

  8. Kathy
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 11:51:29

    Oh how fun that you gave yourself permission to do something different! I love that you had a blast. I sing by myself…but not usually in groups. But I do like to try new things. This was inspirational, Lisa.

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

