At 4am

At 4 am
Darkness is
inevitable.

Not the literal darkness
of a world at rest–
for that is hard to find
as the lights of technology
bleed through
a constant reminder
of human vs. world.

This is the darkness
that leaks out of nightmare
where painful reality
joins forces
with the creatures who hide inside
gnawing at sensitive spots
until your mind screams wake up
or stay in a land filled with
creeping mists
oozing their chill
across the floor
while doomed faces
threaten you
with the failures
of your own mind
and the reality of a world
which prides greed and cruelty
over community
We all pay the price
When we wake into
the inevitable darkness of doubt.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. StuHN
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 06:33:16

    I hear you loud and clear: for the last two weeks, I’ve been waking up around 4am for no reason. Hope things change for you, and soon, Lisa.

    Reply

  2. Andra Watkins
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 09:30:52

    Next time I’m awake at 4am, I’ll know who to message. :)

    Reply

  3. Lorinda J. Taylor
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 12:51:37

    Well, it’s my broken rib that’s been waking me up in the middle of the night. But I believe I prefer fractures to your nightmares, Lisa! I sure hope they don’t persist.

    Reply

  4. Kathy
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 13:54:50

    Ahhhh, that 4 a.m. darkness. The terror of it. I remember this from different times in my life. Fortunately, that terror hasn’t happened recently. Sleeplessness, on the other hand, has. Blessings, Lisa.

    Reply

  5. 4amWriter
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 15:07:46

    Now, now, 4am isn’t all that bad!! :)

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

