Celebrating the Craziness

I have been unable to continue the celebration for the past few days (week) due to the unexpected demise of my computer which lead to the unintentional (but necessary) purchase of a new one and the wait for it to get loaded and things like that.

All of this happened, of course, just two weeks after  the unexpected demise of a car and the  unintentional (but necessary) purchase of a new one.

In other words, just when I thought we were back on track financially, craziness ensued. So today, as the final entries in my list of 45 things to celebrate about my life, I have decided to celebrate some of the craziness.

36. The crazy day my Mom sprinted across the airport to get my wallet/purse to me on a plane, back in the  days when an O.J. Simpson-like sprint through the airport was allowed, and Simpson himself wasn’t a criminal. For the long version of this story read, Telling My Own Story . . . it Begins.

37. The crazy day in Japan which started with  me in a kimono learning tea ceremony, and ended with me dancing in the arms of a man dressed as a woman under the watchful eye of the Yakuza (Japanese mafia). For the long version of  this story read A Strange Day in Japan.

38. The crazy 10-day canoe trip during the time I was getting my MFA at the University of Hawaii, Manoa. I mentioned that I had taken some courses in puppetry, which inspired the leader of the trip  to challenge the group to create sock puppets and perform in the middle of nowhere. Each person had to create a sock puppet of another member of the group. Truly bizarre.

Photo by Steve Kramer

Photo by Steve Kramer

39. The crazy fact that in the first seven years of our relationship (5 dating, 2 married) Nathan and I never spent a full year together, as one  or the other of us traveled or lived in other places. Even now, we spend about a month apart or more each year.

40. The crazy fact that, despite multiple moves and yard sales related to those moves, I cannot let go of boxes of books that I’ve gathered over the years,  some of which I’ve never read. I really need to let them go.

41.The crazy fact that, other than Canada, Nathan and I have never gone to another country together despite all of our separate travels, multiple journeys to Hawaii, and dreams of travel.

42. Related to number 41, the reality that every time we (or I) had an interesting opportunity to travel internationally, life would come crashing down on us making it impossible for me to go. Goodbye trip to Russia. Goodbye trip to Ecuador. One of these days.

43. I sleep with stuffed animals. Enough said.

44.My hair has a crazy mind of its own, curling one day, straight the next, and taking over the world another time.

45. Last, but not least. Me, Myself and I!

picture003

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. awriterweavesatale
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 09:53:43

    the crazy always hits when you least expected. especially the pricey ones, like broken cars and computers. And washing machines.

    Reply

  2. Andra Watkins
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 13:52:30

    I have loved this series so much, Lisa. I feel like I know you so much better. May the rest of your birthday month be free, and may you open your mailbox and find two tickets to somewhere you really want to go together.

    Reply

  3. thelifeofjamie
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 14:24:33

    Love it! I sleep with a stuffed animal too!

    Reply

  4. lisaspiral
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 17:26:06

    I love the way you have chosen to embrace the crazy. Life with crazy is just a little more fun.

    Reply

  5. Kathy
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 17:49:48

    Lisa, you have indeed had some crazy experiences in your day! Some of your stories seem utterly fascinating. So sorry to hear about some of those crazy expenses. Don’t you hate it when those times strike?

    Reply

  6. http://joannevalentinesimson.wordpress.com/
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 21:15:22

    I like (and identify with) the one about the boxes of books. I saved a lot of books for retirement, and now I’m retired, and I keep buying new ones. It’s a losing battle.

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

