Deep Thoughts by Lisa Kramer

No, my deep thoughts will be nothing like Deep Thoughts by Jack Handy. There’s an entire website dedicated to his deep (dark, disturbing, and sometimes downright hilarious) thoughts which originated on Saturday Night Live.

Do you remember those?

No, my deep thoughts are the thoughts of a brain that has been working overtime during the past week, but can’t seem to work its way out of the mire of thinking.

To put it simply, I think too much. I cannot move forward into some other kinds of writing or into planning if I can’t empty my brain off all the thoughts competing for attention. If I had a pensieve like Dumbledore in Harry Potter I would be pulling strand out of strand of thoughts out of my head just to give my mind a rest. But I don’t have one, so I must resort to a more mundane way of doing things (or is that a more muggley way of doing things?). I don’t have a magic wand . . . I just have the magic of words.

I want to use that magic except that I’m afraid, because the truth is that some of my thoughts could piss people off. Does that mean I shouldn’t write them? Or is it finally time to get all of this off my chest?

What exactly am I afraid of?

I guess my fear is not being liked. I still struggle with  wanting to belong somewhere, and here on the blog I’ve found a group of friends even if they are only virtual ones. I’m also aware that anyone who has dreams of writing and selling a book, needs to build a fan base. But what if my deep thoughts are too radical? Too opinionated? Or simply too difficult  to follow?

Yup, my thoughts are that deep.

Then I look at one of my writing idols, Andra Watkins aka The Accidental Cootchie Mama, who does not run away from the dark words and thoughts that sometimes haunt her. She lets her characters have a voice through her words, even when those characters and thoughts come from a scary place. Her fiction never fails to chill, thrill, and make you think a little about the meaning of  life. Perhaps I need to allow my deep thoughts to come  out  in the form of fiction, or at least I need to give voice to them somehow.

Even if they make me afraid.

Does anyone want to hear the deep thoughts of Lisa Kramer or should my voice remain silent?

Sometimes deep thoughts come while sitting on a swing and staring at the sky.

Sometimes deep thoughts come while sitting on a swing and staring at the sky.

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andra Watkins
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 11:03:30

    A blog is a no-risk place, really. To me, at this moment in life, it is the place where I can be most experimental.

    I used to worry about what people thought when I wrote something dark. Will they think I have these bad thoughts? Will they think less of me? Think I’m crazy?

    Then, I remembered how I got into characters for a part. It’s the same process, really. I’m not any of my characters, and they aren’t me. But I have to find believable motivations for them. I have to understand them. Sometimes, I even have to assign my own emotions to them to make them live. If one of your students does that on the stage, you don’t think they’re bad people. You cheer and think they’re really talented, right?

    It’s the same thing here. So I say go for it.

    Reply

  2. Lorinda J. Taylor
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 11:41:08

    Don’t stay silent! I for one am certainly interested in the dark thoughts of Lisa Kramer! One of my reasons for writing both books and blogs is to present my Mythmaker philosophy, some aspects of which may not increase my popularity among certain segments of the 21st-century population. But I don’t expect those people to be part of my fanbase, anyway. I’m very picky about my fanbase! I want to attract the attention of certain types of people, and I believe you’re one of them! So persist! Present your views! Write fiction incorporating them if possible. The crux is to show the views without being preachy (in a blog you can be as preachy as you like!) But fiction should entertain first or nobody is going to bother to read on to the point where you present your ideas.

    Reply

  3. StuHN
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 12:12:34

    I don’t believe in censoring yourself when writing. I would like to read what you have to say, no matter the content.

    Reply

  4. An Embarrassment of Freedom
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 12:21:45

    Write.

    Reply

  5. ART by IMI
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 12:56:05

    Tell us your deep thoughts. Your blog should be your pensieve!

    Reply

  6. lisaspiral
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 13:36:32

    I agree WRITE. But I also want to acknowledge your concerns about sharing. I do a lot of writing just to “get out of my own way.” I use a morning pages format in that I write in the morning and try to get in at least 3 pages uninterrupted, but it’s not always stream of consciousness. Sometimes it’s a long rant. I also often write blog posts as drafts and let them sit in that unseen file. When I drag them out again they usually get a thorough rewrite, sometimes taking the initial idea in an entirely new direction. If I really have something to say that I know won’t be “popular” I still say it. I just work a little harder at expressing what I really mean rather than putting it out there just to punch people’s buttons. But we each have our own style. You can’t find yours unless you WRITE.

    Reply

  7. Kathy
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 16:18:19

    Yes. Do not silence your deep thoughts. They need to find their way to the surface. I also am learning that my thoughts are not who I am. This seems to help keep the thoughts in perspective. Sometimes.

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 960 other followers

