I Will Not Be Silenced

I forced my family to head to Boston with me today, to attend the rally Unite Against the War on Women.

Jaclyn Friedman was an amazing speaker who articulated what I am unable to say.

I found myself sitting on the steps of City Hall, crying silent tears.

In the midst of all these people who had come out to show concern and express anger, to share stories, to speak out against repression and injustice I felt very much alone.

Nathan is interested, but not nearly as passionate about the issues as I am. Sarah really had no interest, despite my explanations that everything happening there had to to with making the world a better place for her. She was distracted by pigeons, the Circus that stood right next to the rally, and the fun potential of steps.

So when I cried, I cried alone.

Where did the tears come?

When I first walked into the plaza, my heart tightened. Around me people carried the signs that should not have surprised me, signs about not being sluts, or stay out of my vagina, or whatever. But seeing them made me realize that the issues we face are so much broader than contraception/choice. If we only focus on those issues, we are focusing our energy in the wrong direction.

The issues move beyond our bodies, to the fact that women are not inferior, second class citizens who serve no purpose other then as incubators for future generations. We are being treated as less than men, as barely human, and that is the real issue.  The laws that are being made affect anyone who is marginalized, and that is a bigger problem than a vaginal ultrasound. I am not diminishing the importance of those aspects. I’ve already written about them as passionately as I could. But, I’ve had the growing sense that we might be fighting the wrong part of the war, and if that is so we could be heading to disaster.

When I heard Jaclyn Friedman (pictured above) speak  I felt pressure release. She broadened the message, speaking of the effects on all people, especially poor people or people of color. She reminded us that this is a battle for all people, where men and women must stand together. She spoke for my thoughts.

But it was not enough and I still ended up in tears.

The tears started when I heard Reverend Aaron Payson Minister of Unitarian Universalist Church of Worcester speak. The title of this post actually comes from his use of “We will not be silenced!” His words showed me that there are some truly religious people out there who recognize that perhaps the words of the bible are being interpreted incorrectly, or perhaps they were written by people who want to keep control of their own power. He too, spoke for my thoughts.

Some of the tears came from hearing people express themselves so beautifully. Some from the power of the stories. Some from the sadness and frustration expressed by women who started this fight in the 70s and could not believe that we were fighting this battle again, now.

But I admit, that some of the tears were personal.

Two incredible women spoke. Idalia, who is described as “” a Puertominican (Puerto Rican and Dominican) writer, performance poet, healthcare advocate, and kitchen table feminist” (http://idaliapoetry.tumblr.com) and Spectra, “n award-winning Nigerian writer, women’s rights activist, and the voice behind the African feminist media blog, Spectra Speaks (www.spectraspeaks.com). [Note that I shortened their bios for this, these women are truly amazing.]

They spoke with the honest voices of their hearts, including their sexuality, their race, and their womanhood. They spoke and the floodgates opened as my heart broke into a million tiny pieces of confusion.

Why? Because when I hear the voices of the truly marginalized I am reminded that I am a white, middle class, heterosexual woman. True, I am a Jew, and that carries with it a different kind of marginalization, but I do not experience rejection based on the color of my skin or my sexual identity.

Sometimes the reality of my identity makes me feel like I should not speak.

I flash back to a time when I presented my dissertation for an award. I wrote a doctoral dissertation entitled, “Theorizing Diversity in Three Professional Theatres for Young Audiences.” Basically I was looking at the fact that most professional TYA companies were white owned, white managed, and yet the audiences they served represented diversity. I wanted to understand the messages being sent in that interaction. I wanted to explore the intersection between what we thought we were doing and what we were really doing. When I presented this for the award, the only thing I was attacked for was the fact that I was a white woman looking at issues of diversity, of race. I explained my position on that, but the explanation was not enough and the question kept coming, “Why do you think you have the right to speak for others?” I did not try to speak for others, I tried to observe and learn and use their voices, but that did not matter to the questioner.

I won Honorable Mention for that award, but nobody won the award that year. Everyone was shocked that I didn’t win.

But this isn’t about that.

It’s about the fact that I should not feel silenced because I haven’t experienced the same level of struggle. If we separate ourselves that way, then we only hurt ourselves. I’m not saying we ignore the differences, but we must embrace those differences and acknowledge that all our voices have the right, the need, to be heard.

I am a white woman. I can’t change that. Nor should I have to apologize for it.

I also have a daughter who is a woman of color. Will she face different challenges than I did?

I can’t answer that, except to say that if we allow the powers that be to control women then her world will be even more challenging than mine.

I can’t allow that to happen. I will not be silent.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Taochild
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:14:30

    Now is a good time to share a thought about this that I have been toying with for a long time. I don’t want to suggest that what is being fought for here is not worthwhile or important, but it seems to me that one aspect of what is going on is getting overlooked by many. If you look at our political history, it is a fact that every election year, some social issue becomes the forefront of all discussion, even if it actually has nothing to do with the governing of our country. It is intentionally done as a way to distract from the real issues that the country faces. To me this attack on woman is actually a compliment in a way. It is a recognition that woman are actually the new power base, and in an effort to prevent them from focusing on what can truly alter the course of our nation and remove the power from those who do not want to lose it, some are intentionally targeting woman as a method of distraction. We are being driven by propaganda, and it is working all to well because people are thoroughly buying into it, either by trying to belittle woman again, or by fighting tooth and nail to prevent it from happening. It is a real issue, but we also need to recognize the other issues behind it, and not get so blinded by rage that other things slip by. Granted some of the words spoken by those in power are truly misguided and plain idiocy. But I honestly believe that some of the more powerful words, the ones that truly inspired rage, actually had intent behind them. We are so focused on the frontal attack, that we are missing what is going on behind us. And that is exactly what they want. Don’t lose sight of the big picture, even as we continue to fight the battle in front of us.

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:20:13

      Most of the speakers at the rally talked about that bigger picture, which was encouraging. However, I think that this time they chose the wrong social issue, because this issue is really linked to all the big picture issues, in many ways.

      Reply

      • Taochild
        Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:28:22

        Oh I agree. My concern is that some focus so much on the woman’s rights side of things that other things are getting pushed into he background again. It is like having a serious wound on our leg while we are also having a heart attack. Someone is poking at the wound, causing such pain that the heart attack is getting forgotten. But either way, well said! Especially about not comparing our travails with others. We each can only react from our own experiences, and everyone’s experiences are equally valid.

        Reply

        • joannevalentinesimson
          Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:35:58

          It’s not just an issue of “women’s rights.” It’s an issue of whether women (half the human population) are really considered human beings on a par with males. Do their thoughts and their contributions to human culture matter? Why do women constantly disappear from history? Why are we and our efforts not taken seriously?

          Reply

          • Lisa Wields Words
            Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:44:14

            I was looking for the image of Charlie Brown yelling THAT’S IT!!! at Lucy when she tells him he’s afraid of everything. Your statement, Joanne, is definitely, IT!!! 🙂

            Reply

          • Taochild
            Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:55:36

            Again I am not disagreeing with that. Maybe it was the wrong choice of words. I am just saying that it is not the ONLY issue that we face. Our economy is collapsing. Our healthcare system is worthless. By them poking at this particular hornet’s nest, we have to be careful not to so focus on the hornets that we don’t notice the floor collapsing beneath us. That is all I am saying. What is being dome is horrendous and intolerable and just plain wrong. I don’t deny that. Just saying don’t lose sight of the other issues as well. 🙂

            Reply

            • Lisa Wields Words
              Apr 28, 2012 @ 20:08:24

              It’s interesting though, how intertwined those issues are with the hornet’s nest.

              Reply

              • Taochild
                Apr 28, 2012 @ 20:13:59

                That is exactly why woman are being targeted again. Because they truly DO have the power to change things now. And the powers that be feel very threatened by this, thus the attempt to bring woman down again. Keep fighting this battle by all means. I fully support it! Just don’t stop fighting on the other fronts as well!

                Reply

  2. nathan010
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:25:17

    You didn’t force me.
    I thought some of the speakers brought up more of the fringe then going on the broader picture.

    Reply

  3. joannevalentinesimson
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:31:42

    Lisa, I was/am one of the women (feminists) of the ’70s who is delighted to see younger women wake up to the truly insidious misogyny in our contemporary culture. Am currently reading “Half the Sky” by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl Wu Dunn about female abuse and trafficking around the globe. Also, recently saw the movie, “Miss Representation,” which tells it like it is about advertising and the objectification of women.
    I had a similar reaction of weeping to a speech by Obama last summer, in which he mentions women’s contributions. It’s described in the last paragraph of this blog entry: http://solowomenathomeandabroad.blogspot.com/2011/07/w-b-n-may-20-quilts-and-obamas-middle.html
    I’ve also re-directed another blog to the issue “On Being a Woman.” Please drop in and check it out.
    http://joannevalentinesimson.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  4. Kathryn McCullough
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:56:31

    Sorry to hear you had to cry alone. But you are right–no matter your degree of marginalization, you should not be silenced. Ever!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  5. lisaspiral
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 20:48:51

    excellent post. Don’t count yourself short on expressing your feelings about this issue. You may not have the detail you would like or the quick phrasing that stands out and sticks with you, but on an emotional level I’m with you all the way.

    Reply

  6. notesfromrumbleycottage
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 21:50:31

    There is a part of me that is amazed we are still fighting the same fight despite all of the advancements. I hope that some of this changes and gets better as time goes on. My daughter talks of being president and I believe she could make it but she would have to be more like Hillary than Michelle Bachman to do it.

    Reply

  7. orples
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 22:02:27

    While I agree that women should continue to fight for equality until the day women = men = zero difference between the two (aside from our biological differences, I think the issues we should focus on between now and November (at the very least) are our Amended rights under our Constitution. Without those rights, we won’t be able to fight for any of our other greivences. With each new law passed, the 1st and 4th Amendments seem to be shrinking. And I am sure if our Government thought they could get away with it, our 2nd Amendment rights would be a thing of the past as well. I doubt your daughter fully understands the impact the issues, we as adults, are concerned with, will have on her future. For now, I’m worried about the fate of the entire Nation, not just ‘some’ issues. Once we’ve stablized our Constitution, then we can pick up the rest of the issues that plague our Nation. 🙂 For now, I think the minor issues are kept raging to take our focus off of the major issues.

    Reply

    • joannevalentinesimson
      Apr 28, 2012 @ 22:18:31

      How on earth do you think the constitution is being destabilized?! If you’re a second amendment fanatic, I hope I can stay out of your crosshairs!

      Reply

      • orples
        Apr 28, 2012 @ 22:34:34

        Are you kidding? I suppose the Patriot Act, the NDAA, Bills such as HR347(which just passed) are A-OK with you. As far as guns go … actually I don’t own any guns, nor do I particularly like them on a personal level, but I will fight for our right to own guns until the day I die. Our forefathers gave us a right to bear arms for good reason. Our Government is whittling away at our rights little by little. Are you so wrapped up in women’s rights that you don’t see the BIG picture? Between the people fighting among ourselves over race, religion, abortion, political parties (which is a real joke) and on down the line, the one thing that assures us the freedom to argue all of those other issues is being insidiously erased while our attention is being diverted. One day America is going to wake up and wonder what happened all of the rights … we used to have.

        Reply

  8. Lisa Wields Words
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 07:59:26

    Okay, civil disagreement on this page please. I think we can ll agree that recently rights have been trampled all over the place. We may not all agree on which rights hold priority. However, if we allow the government to trample all over one group (or in the case of women’s rights, all groups that are somehow considered Other) than nothing will stop them from trampling on all rights. Perhaps they are trying to stray our attention away while rights are stripped slowly from everyone, but it has to stop somewhere. Women, people of color, LBGT groups etc. may have enough power to do this, if we don’t fight with ourselves. That is part of my discussion with this post, we need to simultaneously juggle the big issues with the smaller ones, and learn to prioritize.

    Reply

  9. benzeknees
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 02:10:27

    I agree with you Lisa, let’s not lose sight of the big issues while we continue to keep our focus on particular issues. Like some here have said, it does feel discouraging to be picking up the fight again for women’s rights when we did this already in the 70’s. We cannot afford to be complacent anymore. We need to involve the younger generation & help them understand what they could be losing if they don’t pay attention now.

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Apr 30, 2012 @ 07:24:26

      There were a lot of younger generation people there (although most of them focused on the smaller parts of the big picture). It’s weird, I’m the middle generation and I think that is also part of my struggle. I was too young to really understand the 70s but am old enough to not be completely naive. Sigh.

      Reply

  10. benzeknees
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 02:11:09

    BTW, I forgot to say good job on your post!

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Taking Time Off « Woman Wielding Words
  12. Julie Frayn
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 09:10:17

    Excellent post, Lisa. I am disgusted by what is happening now, in the 21st century. Attacks on women, gays, race, religion. It feels like the world is slipping backward into some time vortex where differences are not allowed. They should be celebrated. I’m a white heterosexual woman too. My ‘minority’ is my religious views (I have zero beliefs, complete denial of any form of spiritualism). I don’t understand why anyone would deny you and I a voice against those that raise their voice against anyone else. When there is injustice, everyone who witnesses it should speak and be heard. Even if they are not the ones under attack. We are under attack now. By all means, don’t be silenced.

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Apr 30, 2012 @ 09:17:33

      Thank you, Julie. I’m not really all that religious (culturally Jewish not religious) although I believe in some kind of spirituality that I can’t define. My ‘minority’ is that as well, in a way, and my inability to understand why being different is such a crime.

      Reply

  13. CMSmith
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 19:54:53

    It’s a very serious issue you’re raising, Lisa. Sometimes I get very sad when I see how little progress has been made since the 70s. I was in college then and we had all kinds of assertiveness training for professional women. As a woman in engineering, I was in a very clear minority. So I feel all these women issues deeply.

    I stepped out of the career arena when our first son was born. I felt a little like a traitor to the women’s cause when I did that, but I had to follow my heart. And I wasn’t willing to sacrifice what my beliefs were when the system really couldn’t adequately accommodate my needs.

    I always felt like I made a sacrifice.

    I dream of a world where we are all equal and there is no 8 to 5, 40-hour work weeks. Where raising children is important so accommodations are made. They said things have improved, and perhaps they have. Quite honestly, I try to stay out of it.

    I went to college the second time around in the 2000s with young women who didn’t have a clue what I was talking about regarding gender issues. It was very disheartening.

    One final note, I believe real change only happens when the people who are NOT part of the minority take up the banner. Good for you.

    Reply

  14. Lisa Wields Words
    May 01, 2012 @ 08:50:34

    I think that, in terms of family vs. career, there is a sheen on it that makes people believe that it has improved, when it really hasn’t. Part of my current frustration in life is the reality that I have made many sacrifices because I had no other choice, and now I feel trapped in a role that does not suit me. So, I take up a banner and try to find my voice only to feel shut down in other ways.

    Reply

    • joannevalentinesimson
      May 02, 2012 @ 07:57:17

      Lisa, I can really feel THAT pain. Women wanted to “have it all” – career, family, fun – like men do. It just doesn’t seem to work for women, because they almost always have to spend more time caretaking than men do. And THEN, they are so often dismissed professionally regardless of accomplishments. As one friend put it: “It’s discouraging.”
      Women do usually have resilience, though, and can learn to love the life they lead, whatever crazy synthesis that might be. I have kept journals over the years and usually managed to “write out ” my frustrations and conflicts. Your blogging probably serves the same purpose for you. And of course, there’s always fiction and poetry.
      For example, I have written many short stories;amny of their themes touched on professional setbacks. I think I felt them deeply because I didn’t have the automatic satisfaction of caring well for my family. One of them dealt specifically witht he conflict of working and caring for children. If you’d like to read it it’s at: http://vpascoefiction.blogspot.com/2012/03/who-will-care-for-children.html
      It’s not too long.

      Reply

      • Lisa Wields Words
        May 02, 2012 @ 08:01:32

        Joanne, I will definitely read your story. This is something I struggle with every day, as I am not a good stay-at-home Mom and have too often been pushed into the Mom role when I want to be doing other things, until suddenly I found myself at a loss for who I am both as a mother and as a professional. I find that much of my writing now, including the two WIPs that I am focusing on, deal with the question of equality and women’s ability to do it all, in a world that wants to define their roles in a tiny box.

        Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa