Searching for Small Blessings

A house in chaos. A challenging night’s sleep. Ant carcasses all over the floor. An absent partner. A dwindling bank account. Insurance documents that have gone AWOL. Dentist appointments and dance recital photos.

Add them all together, and it feels a little difficult to view the world with gentler eyes. Yet, I am determined.

I sit on my deck listening to the wind, and find a place of peace.

I read the words of Anne Morrow Lindbergh in Gift From the Sea, and find a message of patience:

“To dig for treasures shows not only impatience and greed, but lack of faith. Patience, patience, patience, is what the sea teaches. Patience and faith. One should like empty, open, choiceless as a beach–waiting for a gift from the sea.”

I search for the moments of blessing from this past week. I suddenly recall I owe belated thanks for two blog awards offered to me this week, despite my disappearance in the blogosphere of late. The first was The Versatile Blogger Award from Zencherry who embraces life with joyous abandon! I always appreciate her comments and her attitude to life. Please go and visit her!

The second award came from Stuart over at bornstoryteller who gave me the One Lovely Blog Award. Stuart and I lead similar lives and face similar struggles as we try to find a way to live our passions and thrive creatively. We even have the same blog design. 🙂 I am truly grateful for having “met” Stuart and inspired by his work and his passion. Thank you for the award.

Now that I have thanked both of them, and recognized the blessing of being honored by people I admire, I am now going to break the rules by NOT passing the awards on. Why? Because of the journey I am on. I am beginning to recognize the value of focusing on the project and creation, rather than on the numbers and the recognition. I find myself drowning and overwhelmed when I think things like:

  • will I ever be published?
  • why don’t I have more followers?
  • why aren’t my stats higher?
  • am I as good a writer as ______?
  • why does _________ get so much attention while I don’t?
  • why didn’t __________ give that award to me?

Those questions lead only to more chaos.

So, I am choosing not to promote more competition by passing on awards. I try my best to honor quality posts by commenting and linking to them and sometimes even recommending them for Freshly Pressed status. I support my favorite bloggers by visiting them as often as possible, and interacting with them on a regular basis. I cannot choose who is the loveliest or the most versatile or anything else, because I have finally come to the realization that blogging (for me) is not about competition or recognition, but about sharing and writing and challenging myself to improve as a writer, an artist and a person.

This new sense of understanding and clarity is a blessing.

Yesterday, I shared my favorite place, the Botanical Garden with my brother, Steve (who you may know as Taochild). We are both at a place of transition in our lives. We are both seeking to change negatives into positives and reinvent ourselves in a world of confusion. As we walked, I felt joy in myself, because I could walk in such a beautiful place, and I have the ability to change my life even when it is difficult.

As we approached one of my favorite places in the garden, a pond that is home to creatures of all types, I began to listen with my heart. The song of the pond was absolutely amazing. We tried to capture it on Steve’s phone, despite the drone of the lawn mower in the distance and the chatter of people who, of course, decided to stop and talk right behind us.

The first place we listened. The Gazebo lies across the pond.

So we moved into the shelter of the overlooking gazebo, and listened. I pulled out my idea notebook and my journal. I handed him the notebook and said, “Your assignment, should you choose to accept it, is to write about the sounds of nature.”  This is what I wrote:

Sproing

Trill

Chirp

Sproing

Kerro

Flutter

Foghorn

I sit surrounded by communication expressed in a language just beyond my understanding. Frogs calling, spring, kerro, perhaps two species searching for a mate. Birds singing trill, chirp, chatter, peep, flutter– a universe of warnings, beckoning, challenges, celebrations. In the distance, the drone of the lawn mower–human intrusion in a world we don’t own. The giggle of a child. Flutter splash, a bird diving for sustenance or simply resting in the collness of the water. The breeze sings, a low rumble in the ears carrying with it the scents and messages of unknown flowers. I am surrounded by the melodic symphony of silence.

Moments like that are moments of blessing.

As I waited for Steve to finish writing, my mind remained open and alert to the moment and I saw this:

Light reflecting on the water bounces up to dance on the rough-hewn wood of the gazebo. It is a virtual song.

After our walk, we had lunch and ate the MOST DELICIOUS FLAN in the history of the world.

The ability to see, smell, here, taste, touch, experience, wonder, live, breathe, write, sing, dance, hope, and dream all are the true blessings of existence.

Even on dark days, it is possible to find hope.

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marian Methner
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 11:29:04

    Lovely. Thank you. Marian movingoutgranni

    Reply

  2. MoniqueE.
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 11:38:45

    From my research and limited experience, it takes time to grow a blog and a platform for a writer. I’m finding it requires superhuman patience, and that is frustrating. The numbers creep along and we find ourselves reveling in the smallest increment of growth. I’m with you on the difficulties of waiting to be published.
    If you want to share information about building a platform and the road to publishing, email me. Hang in there.

    Reply

  3. Megan D.
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 11:50:55

    Love your post Lisa. As you know I know about the dark days, but I have to remind myself to see the hope and lightness on those days. It’s summer now and the world is anew. It’s time to refuel our souls and forge new paths. I know you’ve been having trials lately but I know there is rich rewards to come for your patience. Many blessings to you, hope you’re able to get out and enjoy the sun today!

    Reply

  4. critters and crayons (@critterscrayons)
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 11:51:32

    Is that you walking? It is a gorgeous photo!

    Reply

  5. Tori Nelson
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 12:01:13

    Some days really are hard. But knowing there is always hope in there, a little light in the darkness, keeps you going.

    Reply

  6. Kathryn McCullough
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 13:02:48

    I’m feeling stressed, as well. It sucks, doesn’t it? But your attitude is wonderful, and the choice to count your blessings is smart one. Congrats on the awards, Lisa, and have a wonderful weekend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 15:15:47

      I’m sorry you are feeling stressed. I thought you might be (your response to my comment yesterday sounded stressed). Hang in there, my friend. I’m looking forward to August!

      Lisa

      Reply

  7. Barbarann Ayars
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 13:33:58

    The dark places are where hope resides, waiting, like truffles, to be nosed out. Hope lies in the dark, hidden treasure for getting us into light. I sat yesterday with my surgeon, and his chemo team and we searched for hope, bright and shining in the darkness, and we looked deep into me for my tools to ferret out hope, to carry it like a beacon, to recovery, and we discovered in my responses that not only are there towering reasons for hope, but that I recognize them, see the promises and know my surgeon to be truthful, honest in the telling of those truths and that though chemo is frightening, I can do this to recovery. That is about using hope to best advantage, knowing the path is well defined and that I am blessed to walk with those who know the way. Walk with me, all of you who respond to this blog. I’ll need a faithful crowd! there is more life at the end of this tunnel dark though it may be. It is only for a little while, and I will come through it. That is a blessing.

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 15:17:42

      Oh, Barbarann, I am sending you all the power of hope. I know it is a scary journey, but I also know you will make it through. Your interaction with me has been a blessing, and I hope that I can return the favor.

      Reply

  8. Barbarann Ayars
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 14:39:53

    And you might want to follow along at my blog: http://www.makeminememoir.blogspot.com, where I have been absent since March 26. Not yet knee deep into the nitty gritty of this process, I am merely guessing at my ability to report progress in this format.

    Reply

  9. Stuart Nager
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 15:13:10

    Don’t stress not passing this along: I struggle with that as well. I’ve gotten other awards that I’ve just thanked the person and moved on. It’s all good.

    Fingers crossed for me, please: had a job interview today that I THINK went very well.

    Reply

  10. joannevalentinesimson
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 17:35:17

    That paragraph about the sounds is splendid.

    Reply

  11. zencherry
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 19:49:01

    Beautiful writing as ever. ‘I sit surrounded by communication expressed in a language just beyond my understanding.’ Such is life, eh? Bask in the unintelligible I reckon and let it wash away all the noise we humans make. Mwah! Love ya hon. It’s all gonna be alright. I mean, just look at those lovely words coming out of you. Fantastic!

    Reply

  12. thepetalpusher
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 12:05:40

    I like that photo of you climbing the stairs, walking towards that sunshine and promise of another day. We must remember that every today is a privilege.

    Reply

  13. Taochild
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 18:18:37

    I will soon (hopefully) have the sound clip available. By the way could you send me my little bit o writing from that moment? I forgot to take it with me …

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Dude, where’s my car? | The Ninja Cat Journals
  15. Trackback: The Song of the Pond | The odd ramblings of a mind that does not quite fit
  16. Trackback: The Song of the Pond | The odd ramblings of a mind that does not quite fit

Share your thoughts with Lisa