Love of Literature, Fear of Failure

I have been reading forever, and writing since I knew how to form letters. Books have been my best friends, and sometimes my worst enemies. Writing essays and stories became my escape, and represented a climb to glory that only a few could achieve. Some of my fondest memories of childhood come from my own words–when the school published a poem I wrote, or a teacher read a story I wrote to the class. I relished reports written by me and then presented orally. I still remember doing the research on Basenjis because my dog, Tammy, was part Basenji.

Tammy had the coloring, the face, and the size, but she had a lab chest.

This love of reading and writing lasted throughout school, as I blasted ahead of fellow classmates absorbing literature like food. At Smith, I skipped the Introductory Course in English and went straight into the Sophomore Level. (That only became an issue years later when I started to teach Freshman Comp, and realized I didn’t know how).  I believe I declared a major in English Language and Literature as soon as I was allowed to declare my major.

But wait, you are thinking, isn’t your field theater?

Well, at the time English Language and Literature was one of the HARDEST majors at Smith College. What used to be an easy A for me, became a hard-earned B (with the occasional A). The lowest grade I ever got in college was from my Chaucer class (although I have to say that was not completely a fair grade–but that’s another story).  I tended to excel in the dramatic literature classes more than in the classes about novels or poetry. As much as I loved reading and writing, I started to doubt myself. I had one professor who truly supported me, and allowed me to do a special studies project during my senior year (“The Roles of Women in Shakespeare”). I had one professor who chose favorites, and he happened to be the one who taught Short Story writing. When I graduated, I only had a B+ average in my major.

I grew doubts.

Meanwhile, I had always intended to do a minor in theater. I participated in everything I could, and took more classes than the minor required. (On a side note, I always made sure to take at least one class a semester outside of English or Theater to broaden my horizons–Smith didn’t have any core requirements). So, when senior year rolled around and I met with my minor advisor, she and I realized that I was only three credits shy of the theater major, and that I had an A- (?) average in all those courses. Three production credits. I had done numerous productions for no credit. So, we traipsed over to the chairs office and asked if there was any way I could still be a major, without those credits. He waived them.

So I graduated from Smith College with a double major in English Language and Literature and Theatre.

Little did I know how intricate a role each would come to play in my life.

The theater part is pretty obvious if you have been reading my blog for any length of time. Sorry if this is a little repetitive. I did an internship in electrics and stage management, eventually went back to school for an MFA in directing, and then continued my masochistic pursuit of education to get my PhD in Theatre for Youth. So now I am technically, a theater director/educator with an expertise in theatre for and with children as well as theatre for social change.

Now to English. Between my internship and my MFA I taught English conversation classes in Japan for three years. And of course, I kept reading and writing.

After I got my PhD and moved to Vermont where my husband taught at Castleton State College, I felt like I needed more than teaching adjunct courses for the theater department in the college and directing  one show a year.

So yes, crazy me, signed up for a distance learning class with the Institute for Children’s Literature. That one class led to three, and the book that is gathering dust without a home.

We then moved onto Fort Lewis College where, due to circumstances which I choose not to discuss here, my opportunities to teach in the theatre department were limited and then ultimately disappeared (although I did teach Non Western Theater that was part of the General Education program, as well as Children’s Theater for the Education Department). I got to direct one show (eventually) and had lots of projects in the community, as well as some children’s classes. But again, that wasn’t enough, especially financially. So, the first classes I taught at the college were 1 credit Library Research classes, introducing appropriate use of resources. It was a horrible class  because it was being phased out, but still a requirement. But, it was a foot in the door, and I got to do it because I had a PhD. After that, the Writing Program advertised for a full-time faculty position. I knew I wasn’t qualified, but I applied anyway. I didn’t get that job, but late in the summer (about two weeks before the semester started)  I got a call from the Head of the Writing Program saying “Would you like to pick up a couple of classes? We really need someone.” So I found myself teaching a 100 level and a 200 level course in Composition–without having a clue.

You know what I learned? Give me a challenge and I live up to it. Both those classes were successful, and I learned from my mistakes. I eventually picked up more classes, got on a part-time contract (that included benefits) and taught courses throughout the school in Honors, Comp, Gen Ed, Writing, and the occasional theater class.

Move forward to now. I am at a community college (another long story). I teach Theater Appreciation and Stage Makeup, which are basically the only Theater classes available to me at the moment. It’s a small program. I direct. This past semester, the person in charge of adjuncts asked if I would be willing to teach a Comp I class. No problem, I’m experienced now (although this one was very different).  He asked me if I’d teach one on-line as well. Slight problem, but I was up for the challenge (and that class was better than the live one).

I didn’t expect any classes over the summer, but I said I was willing to teach some on-line courses. (Live ones would be too complicated for the summer). At first nothing, and then I was offered two classes. Slight problem, instead of Comp I he wanted me to do Comp II. Okay, I’ve done that before as well, just a matter of figuring the technology again.

However, the second class leads me to here and now. To this present moment. I am teaching an Introduction to Literature Class. American Literature. (Did I mention that my degree at Smith mostly focused on Brit Lit).

I’M FREAKING OUT!

There, vent over. Luckily I have a wonderful blogging buddy who has sent me a gracious gift.  So, here’s a shout out to Amanda at A.Hab’s View who is a goddess in disguise.

Now, I must stop procrastinating and face the beast.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tori Nelson
    May 18, 2011 @ 11:13:22

    YOU CAN DO IT!

    Reply

  2. vixter2010
    May 18, 2011 @ 11:26:53

    I second Tori! Also Chaucer is mind-numbing, I can’t believe they inflict him on kids!

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      May 18, 2011 @ 11:35:34

      I wasn’t a kid, I was a Sophomore. 😉 To be fair, I think I inflicted him on myself. I actually liked reading Chaucer, the difficulty lay in the fact that my professor was (literally) dying of Cancer. He gave us an option, at the end of the semester, to write a paper or simply recite the first part of The Canterbury Tales. (Originally we were supposed to do both as part of the grade). Out of respect for him, I chose the paper. He graded that paper more harshly then anything I have ever written before. Seriously, ouch! It still hurts.

      Reply

      • Mrs. H.
        May 18, 2011 @ 13:03:09

        I totally agree! I love Chaucer. Of all the Middle English poets, his is the easiest form of ME to read. Have you ever tried to tackle Gower’s “Confessio Amantis” in its original ME? I cried. I opened up the box from Amazon.com, saw the 400-page beast in front of me, and literally wept like a baby. (But then a friend of mine who’s a genius at ME came to my rescue and taught me how to read Gower’s bizarro language. :)) Hooray for Chaucer and London! 😉

        Reply

  3. Mrs. H.
    May 18, 2011 @ 13:08:25

    Aw, thanks so much for the shout-out, Lisa! I’m touched! 🙂

    Also, lord knows I understand the doubts you have. My theory, though, is that if I can read it, I can teach it. And you can read. You can definitely read. So, that means you can teach anything. And remember that you’re already an expert in the field that your students will be “introduced” to through your class. You may not have done your dissertation on the American Gothic novel and its impact on Southern literature (…seriously have no idea where that came from…), but that doesn’t mean that you can’t 1. teach your students about Hawthorne and Hemingway and 2. conduct just enough additional background research in order to help lend some context to the stuff your students will be reading.

    Know what I discovered is fun? Incorporating my specialty in unlikely ways. So, for instance, when my students were reading Persepolis, I talked a little bit about Hamlet. Why? Because I can. Because I know that Hamlet is, at its core, a play about trying to eke out an identity for oneself when life has gone to shit…and so is Persepolis.

    To echo Tori, you can do this!! I can’t wait to her how it goes! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Samyak
    May 19, 2011 @ 03:54:00

    as the wise man once said, “the best way out is always through!”
    all the best,
    Samyak
    ThoughtTavern

    Reply

  5. bekaboo
    May 19, 2011 @ 14:13:20

    I just happened across your blog and this post and wanted to send you encouragement. I agree that you can absolutely teach anything that you can read. Like you, I tested out of Freshman English, so I never got that. Honestly, my high school AP English courses were more difficult than anything I took in college, and I was an English major. I then went into a PhD program at a very highly ranked school in English lit. Of course I felt like a fraud the whole time, because I never felt like I knew what I was doing. They only accepted 13 of over 300 applicants, and I was the only one who hadn’t come from a prestigious undergrad program.

    All of the grad students earned our keep by teaching Freshman and then Sophomore writing courses, so I learned as I went, with all the concomitant anxiety. Long story shorter, I have taught part time occasionally over the years, and the anxiety has never lessened. Maybe it keeps us on our toes. Just remember that you are smarter and more experienced than your students. You can definitely do it!

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      May 19, 2011 @ 14:27:29

      Thank you so much for those encouraging words. I’m actually feeling a little bit better about it. I still have a ton of work to do, but I’ve got the basic outline of the course laid out. I have to figure out my paper prompts and do a lot of reading, but Amanda helped me SO much. I am really working my class hard, considering it is an on-line course. But how can you learn literature if you don’t read lots of literature? I can do it, but it is nice to know I have supportive people on my side.

      Reply

  6. Trackback: Speeding Back into the Unknown « Woman Wielding Words

Share your thoughts with Lisa