Occupy Thanksgiving?? Challenges to Thankfulness

It’s hard to be thankful with dog poop on your shoe.
It’s hard to be thankful with so much stuff yet to do.

It’s hard to be thankful when you just learned today
that a dear friend from your past had a partner go away.

It’s hard to be thankful when another friend you know
Was mugged, pushed and frightened, with her face taking a blow.

It’s hard to be thankful when every other sound
reveals Democracy is failing and the world has turned around.

It’s hard to be thankful, and yet I know I must
find joy in the people I know and I trust.

The world might end tomorrow, but we still have today
Let’s fill it with laughter, joy, happiness and play.

Today I will be thankful for every choice I’ve made
for friends, for travel, and for a life for which I have no shame.

Today I will be thankful, although its hard to do
So Happy Thanksgiving my friends, I hope you are thankful too.

What do you do when you find it hard to be thankful?

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 20:53:28

    I am finding it hard to be grateful at the moment because my son has been crying for 20 minutes. So I am going to drink!

    Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 21:05:48

    Great poem, Lisa. Thanks for the reminder to be thankful. I’m grateful for you, your friendship, and your blog, dear Lisa. Happy Thanksgiving——
    Kathy

    Reply

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 21:28:33

    Happy Thanksgiving Lisa! (I’m checking my shoe after reading that first line… ) Have a safe week! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 07:43:11

      The worst part is that it was actually my SLIPPER not my shoe. So now I have to walk around with cold feet. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Reply

  4. Trackback: That I MAY BE TRULY THANKFUL FOR ALL MY BLESSINGS | allaboutlemon
  5. Trackback: Thankful For… | Abi At Play
  6. Taochild
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 09:29:54

    Great poem. Great smile. And great inspiration. A sappy post on the way….

    Reply

  7. Taochild
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 09:30:24

    not sure how great became Prest.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Occupy Thanks, and giving it too! | The odd ramblings of a mind that does not quite fit
  9. Trackback: Occupy Thanks, and giving too! | The odd ramblings of a mind that does not quite fit
    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 14:27:01

      EVERYONE MUST READ this post by Steve, he says some wonderful truths (although I disagree with his interpretations of my own actions).

      Reply

  10. thepetalpusher
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 14:50:40

    Yes, we still have today! Happy Thanksgiving to you, Sarah and Nathan.

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 15:54:40

      Thanks Terry. Happy Thanksgiving to you too. Today is a day worth living,even with dog poop.

      Reply

  11. Trackback: ยฟษนoษŸ ืŸnษŸสžuษษฅส‡ noสŽ วษนษ ส‡ษษฅส ‘os | World (and Lunar) Domination
  12. Patricia
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 20:45:55

    When I am having a hard time being thankful I usually take a nap…naps help with lots of stuff.

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 20:47:32

      True, but often I find that when I am having a hard time being thankful I also have a hard time falling asleep. But I love any excuse to take a nap. “Sorry, I am not feeling thankful, time for a nap.” Thanks for commenting.

      Reply

  13. Rose
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 00:49:09

    I’m often thankful and underwhelmed by all that a poo slipper represents all at the same time. How I loathe bad news from dear friends.

    Reply

  14. ifiwerebraveblog
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 10:32:23

    Breathe. Focus on one good thing. Remember what it feels like to be loved by the people in my life. Start the day again.

    Reply

  15. Trackback: That I MAY BE TRULY THANKFUL FOR ALL MY BLESSINGS โ€“ allaboutlemon

Share your thoughts with Lisa