Word Chaos

The Versatile Blogger Award

The Versatile Blogger Award (Photo credit: nhighberg)

First I must thank Rossandra White for nominating me for another Versatile Blogger Award yesterday. I am not going to do it justice because:

  • I am a rebel (in my own mind) who doesn’t want to follow rules.
  • I have written about this award here and here and here.
  • I can’t think of seven random facts about myself that I haven’t already written about or that anyone would find remotely interesting.
  • I love too many bloggers and find so much versatility in so many places I cannot pick 15. I think any of the people who I visit on a regular basis are incredibly talented. That’s what keeps me coming back, at first, and then those relationships have grown into (dare I say) friendships. I am just honored to be part of this amazingly versatile community.

So instead of passing on the award, I’m sending you all some flowers and a virtual hug.

Photo taken at the Botanical Gardens at Smith College

But now for the real words that want to be heard today:

WORD CHAOS

Sometimes words suffocate
crowding into my mind
in the moment between sleep
and awake
where dream fragments
fight for attention with
the to do list of the day.

Words fill my brain
streaming sentences written
across the sky or
spoken in silent voices
tempting me with images and possibilities
but then dancing away
on hummingbird wings
the speeding buzz
of ideas never to be caught.

I yearn for silence
but then the loneliness fills the void
and doubts creep in.
“Who are you without words?”
a voiceless whisper asks.
“Take away your thoughts,
your brain, your intelligence,
and you will find an empty shell.”

But I am not empty.
Words cannot control me.
Loneliness cannot define me.
Self-doubt cannot destroy me.
Because though words do have power,
I have power over words.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stuart Nager
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 08:48:04

    Recognition for your work is a good thing. Congrats on getting another.
    Think if we only thought in pictures and had no words. hmmmmmm

    Reply

  2. Dana
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 12:12:12

    Kudos to you on another award, Lisa (and way to go as well, accepting the award three different times! That shows a lot of patience, versatility, and creativity in itself.) 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 13:32:13

    I like how you handled the award! Very versatile. (And silly can be a fun thing.) The words today were lovely and in their proper place.

    Reply

  4. Piglet in Portugal
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 17:51:15

    A picture saves a 1000 words, but as we each look at a picture we can see something different. I love the Word Chaos you are indeed Versatile!

    Reply

  5. benzeknees
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 13:05:30

    Congrats on another award – you are very deserving! And thank you for sharing the flower, it’s the kind of day here where a flower is very much appreciated!

    Reply

Share your thoughts with Lisa